A journey has to start somewhere!

Hey there!

My name is Toye, and I want to welcome you to my new blog.  I will be tracking my weight loss journey here, including my current workouts, recipes, information I find on nutrition, and my many thoughts on the subjects.  I will let you know what I think about all of these things, good and bad, because I am a pretty blunt person and not very shy or modest.  I love to laugh a lot, spend time with my dear husband and my very active ADD (21) / ADHD (11)  children.   I am an EKG Technician by day, really by weekend as I only work Friday through Sunday.  Not to bad of a gig, if you ask me.

In January of this year I went back to college to start working toward my nursing degree.  I signed up for a Kickboxing for Fitness class as a way to force myself to start exercising.  I figured if I had to pay for it, couldn’t miss class without loosing points off my grade, and had others there to hold me accountable I would maybe actually stick with it.  Well, I was addicted after about three weeks into the course.  I had a great coach who was about my age and even though the class was not my age on average (38 years young), it had some wonderful ladies that were very encouraging.  I was the oldest and heaviest woman in the class, but felt very comfortable surprisingly. Oh, by the way I made an “A” in the class. Go me!

My son, we’ll call him Stud Muffin In the Making (Stud for short), currently holds a white and yellow belt with  4 white stripes in Brazilian Jujitsu.  While I was taking my classes on Mondays and Wednesdays, I was sitting on my big behind watching him workout on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  At the same time as his classe was a Kickboxing class on the other mat.  I would sit there every Tuesday and Thursday thinking I should be working out.  I was already addicted to Kickboxing and loved the feeling it gave me when I would hit and kick the bags really hard.  I loved learning what a jab, cross, straight, roundhouse, switch kick, front kick, etc. were.  I loved that when my husband and son would watch UFC I could actually keep up with what was going on. I would yell out, “Oh, Oh that’s a ……”.  So logically I signed up for that class for a year.  Under contract. No going back now, lol.

So here we are.  My college classes are over and now I am down to working out two days a week from four.  So what to do?  Order Jillian Michael’s new Body Revolution 13 week workout dvd set of course!  I started on Tuesday with phase 1 disc 1 in the morning and Kickboxing at Gracie Barra in the evening.  Wednesday was phase 1 disc 2 in the morning.  I was going to hit this hard and get the weight off.  Yeah right.  Wednesday afternoon my dear hubby and I went to another MMA gym looking to buy some MMA shorts for Stud’s upcoming No Gi competition.   We get out of the car, and with me leading the charge, I open the door and break my pinky toe.  Yes, you read that right.  The door caught my pinky toe and next thing I know it’s at a 90 degree angle from its original position.  I don’t know if it was shock or what, but I just leaned down and moved it back in place.  I know, ouch right? Nope.  It didn’t really click for about 5 minutes, until it started hurting… badly!  So needless to say there will be no kickboxing for a few weeks if my doctor has anything to say about it.

But I can’t just stop working out! So my plan is to do abs, I love ab workouts, and anything that does not require me putting all my weight on my left foot. So, raise your glasses ladies and let’s have a toast to this new journey! Cheers! I hope you will stay around, stalk me and keep me company while I work hard on becoming a “Hot Ginger”!

Leave a Reply

