Working It With a Broken Toe

Yes, I am! I am determined to get this weight off so I am working out even with my broken pinky toe.  It still hurts pretty bad, but I refuse to let that which pain medicine helps keep me down.  My kickboxing trainer, Kristin Sommer (owner of Etre Fit in Clear Lake, TX), is so awesome and motivating.  If you live in the area, you should definitely check her out.   She is the 2012 Texas State Gi and No-Gi Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Women’s Masters Champion in her weight class, and she is an awesome person.

So, I am officially on vacation for the next 10 days.  This means I will be focusing on working out everyday and really working on my eating.  I have several recipes that I am going to make in bulk and divide up into portion sizes and freeze for easy eating.  I believe planning really helps me to succeed.  One of the recipes that I made recently is Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins from Jillian Michael’s Body Revolution nutrition guide.  They aren’t very pretty muffins once cooked, but they are delicious, and filling!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins:

Olive oil spray for the muffin pan

1 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour

1 c. rolled oats (not instant)

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 c. coconut milk (I used So Delicious brand)

1/3 c. honey

1/4 c. olive oil

1 large egg

zest of 1 orange

1 c. finely chopped walnuts, (toasted)

1/2 c. 70 % cocoa chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Lightly spray muffin tin with olive oil or line with paper liners.

In a large bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients.  In another bowl whisk together the wet ingredients including the orange zest.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry  and stir just until moistened.  Fold in the walnuts and chocolate chips.

Spoon into the prepared muffin tin.  Place muffin tin in the oven and REDUCE the temperature to 400 degrees.  Bake 18-20 minutes.  Let cool for 5 minutes before unmolding from the muffin tin.  Serve warm or freeze for quick on the go breakfast! Will last 3 days in an airtight container at room temperature or 2 months in the freezer.

12 Servings

Calories: 280. 9,  Fat 16.5 g,  Protein: 5.7 g,  Carbohydrates: 31.3 g, Sodium: 279 mg

I know what your thinking, one muffin for breakfast? Believe me, they are very filling and keep you full for hours especially if your drinking your water!

Here’s to being healthy!

Toye

 

Leave a Reply

